Five Receive Missouri’s Highest Honor

Dennis Hacker Adult, MOUSBC Leave a Comment

On Sunday, November 6, during the fall meeting, the Missouri State USBC Board of Directors elected five new members to the Missouri State USBC Hall of Fame: in the category of Meritorious Service, Jean Manzelli from St. Louis, and Connie Bacorn from Ava; in the category of Superior Performance—Female, Karen Young from Jefferson City; and in the category of Superior Performance—Male, Mark Hood of Arnold, and William “Bill” Uthoff from Mansfield, Texas. Induction ceremonies will be on Saturday, June 3, 2017, at the Capitol Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in Jefferson City, MO.

St. Louis’ Jean Manzelli has been involved in sanctioned bowling for 44 years, and seemingly involved in Youth bowling for just about every year. She served as a Youth Director on the state board for 8 years, and on the planning committee for the Junior Gold National Championships when it was held in St. Louis in 1997. Jean’s service to youth goes back to the YABA days, filling the roles of Secretary and Treasurer of the St. Louis YABA for ten years. She was Junior Director and Coach at Village Lanes for eight years, and at Crestwood Bowl for twenty-six years and counting, where she runs the qualifying round for the Missouri BPA Family Tournament and Pepsi Youth Championships. MOUSBC Hall of Famer Ray Bluth commented “I know of no other junior program or junior director that has touched, taught, mentored, or meant so much to so many as Jeannie Manzelli. She is now coaching kids whose parents she once helped, not only bowl but learn to compete and strive to be better.”

Connie Bacorn has been around sanctioned bowling for 43 years, and has seemingly found a leadership role in most every area in which she has served. Residing in Ava with husband Fred, she recently retired from the job of MOUSBC Association Manage. However, she continues her service to the state as the Tournament Director for the MOUSBC Senior Open and Women’s Championships, and the MOUSBC Women’s Championships. Prior to the state merger, she was the Missouri State WBA Secretary-Treasurer at the state level, and also in the past both the President and Secretary of the Piney River WBA, and a director on the Ava WBA. She’s represented Missouri at National Conventions over 20 times, and has attended 28 State Annual Meetings.

Also nominated in the category of Meritorious Service was Laura Whitcomb of St. Ann. Her nomination will carry forward to next year.

Karen Young has nearly 30 years of sanctioned bowling to her credit. Posting a career high average of 217 in 2011-12, she had two more league seasons at 216 in her career thus far. Hailing from Jefferson City, she’s had six 300 games, and a career high 815 series in the 2013 MOUSBC Women’s Championships at Oasis Lanes in Union, MO. In 2010, she became a State Champion in the Singles event in Division 1 of the MOUSBC Women’s Championships, shooting 743. She has two 1st Place finishes in the Greater Ozarks Women’s Championships, winning the Singles and All-Events divisions in 2004. Karen was also a member of the 2009 MOUSBC Mixed State Championships winning team, and has 14 local Association titles to her credit. She’s a two-time Fulton USBC Woman Bowler of the Year, and a member of the MO Capital Area USBC Hall of Fame.

Also nominated in the category of Superior Performance—Female, but not elected this year, was Margret Mathews of Valley Park, MO. Her nomination will be carried forward to next year.

Arnold’s Mark Hood has an impressive resume to say the least. While his normal statistics are extraordinary enough (45 300 games, 21 800 series, and a high average of 244), the tournament wins are what place him above many of his peers. He’s a four-time State Champion, winning each event of the Missouri State Open Championships at least once: All-Events in 1984, Singles and Team Handicap in 1985, Doubles in 1996, and the Team Scratch in 2000. He was the Missouri State Amateur Champion in 1989, 1991, and 1995, and represented Missouri in the US Open four times, cashing twice. He was a member of the second place team in the 1989 ABC National Championships in Wichita, KS. While in college, he was the All-Events Champion in the 1981 NJCAA National Tournament, and was named Captain of the 1981 NJCAA All American Team. A win at the 1984 PBA AMF Pepsi Open earned him the right to bowl in the 1984 PBA Regional Champions Classic, where he finished second. Mark is a member of both the Jeffco USBC and St. Louis USBC Halls of Fame.

Finally, William “Bill” Uthoff, currently living in Mansfield, TX, was a fixture around Missouri bowling for over 30 years. Already a member of both the St. Louis USBC and St. Charles County USBC Halls of Fame, Bill has three MOUSBC State Championships to his credit. In 2009, he won the Doubles Scratch title; in 2012, he was part of a team that won both the Handicap and Scratch Team events. He’s a two-time St. Louis USBC Association Champion in 2008, a Greater Ozarks Open Team Champion in 2006, and impressively has a 6th place finish in Singles and a 7th place finish in Team in the USBC Open Championships in Reno in 2008. Bill has a high average of 234, posted twice in the winter seasons of 2003-04 and 2005-06, followed by a 233 in 2001-02. He has twenty-six 800 series’, with a high of 825, recorded twice. He owns 61 perfect 300 games, the most notable of which came in the 2008 USBC Open Championships in Albuquerque, NM. He’s been a squad sponsor of huge squads for the Missouri State Open Championships, bringing anywhere from 10 to a high of 24 teams to our State Tournament—and that has continued even after his move to Texas for work.

Also nominated in the category of Superior Performance—Male, but not elected this year, were: Michael Ferguson, Sr., from Kansas City; Patrick Henderson from Kansas City; Jesse Campbell from Savannah; and David J. Scott from Springfield. All four nominations will carry forward to next year.

It will be a great night on June 3 when we honor all of these inductees, and welcome the Class of 2017 to the Missouri State USBC Hall of Fame.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *